top of page

Composers in residence

In 1986 Helga Ingólfsdóttir, the founder of the Summer Concerts, started the tradition of having one or more composers in residence. Every year a new piece was premiered at the Summer Concerts which made the festival not only a leading early music festival, but also a new music festival. 


Many of the pieces have become a part of the Icelandic repertoir of new music, and have been performed in Iceland and abroad.


You will find info about the composers in residence 2021, Haukur Tómasson and Eygló Höskuldsdóttir Viborg below, as well as a list over the composers in residence from 1986 until now. 

Hróðmar Ingi Sigurbjörnsson

We are thrilled to announce Hróðmar Ingi Sigurbjörnsson as the festival's composer in residence. It is a great honour to welcome him back to the festival as he was one of the composers in residence in 2000.

Hróðmar has been a powerful figure in the Icelandic music scene for the past few decades. This he has accomplished with his compositions as well as contributions to music education. Hróðmar graduated in 1984 from The Reykjavík College of Music under the guidance of composers Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson and Atli Heimir Sveinsson. He then continued his studies at the Utrecht Conservatory with composer Joep Straesser, where he graduated in 1988. Since then, he has been an active composer and teacher in Composition and Music Theory. He holds a current position as Associate Professor and Programme Director in Composition and Music Theory at Iceland University of the Arts.


Here is a list of all the composers who have been composers in residence at Skálholt Summer Concerts.

1987 - Jón Nordal
1987 - Hjálmar H. Ragnarsson
1988 - Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson
1989 - Hjálmar H. Ragnarsson
1990 - Hafliði Hallgrímsson, Mist Þorkelsdóttir and Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson
1991 - John Speight and Karólína Eiríksdóttir
1992 - Oliver Kentish
1993 - Jón Nordal and Hafliði Hallgrímsson
1994 - Mist Þorkelsdóttir
1995 - Atli Heimir Sveinsson, Jón Nordal and Þorsteinn Hauksson
1996 - Jónas Tómasson and Hildigunnur Rúnarsdóttir
1997 - Oliver Kentish and Áskell Másson
1998 - Bára Grímsdóttir, Elín Gunnlaugsdóttir and Hafliði Hallgrímsson
1999 - Tryggvi M. Baldvinsson and Snorri S. Birgisson
2000 - Hróðmar Ingi Sigrubjörnsson and Bára Grímsdóttir
2001 - Jón Nordal and Karólína Eiríksdóttir
2002 - Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson and Þórður Magnússon
2003 - Gunnar Reynir Sveinsson, Oliver Kentish, Bára Grímsdóttir, Hugi Guðmundsson, Tryggvi M. Baldvinsson and Þuríður Jónsdóttir
2004 - Jón Nordal, Hildigunnur Rúnarsdóttir, John Tavener and Elín Gunnlaugsdóttir
2005 - Anna S. Þorvaldsdóttir, Gunnar Andreas Kristinsson, Hugi Guðmundsson and Þóra Marteinsdóttir
2006 - Doinu Rotaru
2007 - Daníel Bjarnason
2008 - Sveinn Lúðvík Björnsson 
2009 - Þuríður Jónsdóttir
2010 - Sigurð Sævarsson
2011 - Þóra Marteinsdóttir
2012 - Hafdís Bjarnadóttir
2013 - Hreiðar Ingi Þorsteinson
2014 - Páll Ragnar Pálsson
2015 - Finnu Karlsson o Stefán Arason
2016 - María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir 
2017 - María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir
2018 - Bára Gisladóttir og Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir
2019 - Þuríður Jónsdóttir
2020 - Gunnar Karel Másson og Þóranna Björnsdóttir

2021 - Haukur Tómasson and Eygló Viborg Höskuldsdóttir

bottom of page